sydney pearl

6 December 2009

Once, a number of years ago, Sydney’s mother was brought to tears when she saw my daughter Carly because, she said, it seemed in the few months since she had seen her last, Carly had suddenly turned into a young woman.

It’s kind of how I feel today, thinking of our Syd turning thirteen.  In many ways I want her to stay that little girl who hated it when I called her “peanut.”  But each time I see her she is lovelier than she was the last time.  Inside and out.

When it comes to nieces, Sydney is as nice as they get.  Strong and pretty and deep and smart and extra, extra sweet.  The best hugger ever; she’ll love you from the bottom of her heart.  Happy birthday  Sydney.  I’m so glad I get to be your aunt.

(And many more and shut the door on ricky hubble.)

5 Responses to “sydney pearl”

  1. Carol Says:

    Hi Jen
    You moved me to tears over this one. Thanks xoxox

  2. Hay Says:

    Lovely. Happy birthday to your beautiful niece.

  3. julie Says:

    Your dad just commented that “that is what your first-borns” will do.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Aw [sniff]. Love him.


Leave a Reply

