an inspiring canadian sticks with a big problem

6 October 2009

There are a couple of organizations my family supports in lieu of exchanging Christmas gifts.  The Stephen Lewis Foundation is one of them.  They use grass roots strategies to tackle a big, big problem.

Thanksgiving is this weekend.  As we’re giving thanks for what we have, it might be a good time to think about what we can do to help organizations like the Stephen Lewis Foundation.  As the video shows, your small bit can help in a very tangible way. 

Cheers.

http://www.stephenlewisfoundation.org/

4 Responses to “an inspiring canadian sticks with a big problem”

  1. Reluctant Blogger Says:

    Yes, that does look a good cause.

    What a fabulous idea to give to people who really need it rather than buy presents for those who have no need of them. I can’t see that my children would jump up enthusiastically if I suggested the idea, but some of my adult relatives might.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Well my kids are grown (and its my youngest daughter who finally set this giving project into motion and facilitates it). But I still buy gifts for the children in the family, my nieces and nephews.

    Word Vision is another tangible gift – wherein you can assign the money to medical or education supplies, or goats, chickens or other sustainable things which are satisfying and great value for the money. Your kids would probably enjoy taking part in decisions about where the money goes!

    Our Christmas lacks nothing. There are mounds of food and my kids and I do small inexpensive gifts and stocking stuffers! It’s the day with family that is memorable.

    Stephen Lewis is the former UN Envoy for Aids in Africa and an inspiring and impassioned speaker, lots of youtube vid if you need to convince anyone! 🙂

  3. Mmmm Says:

    Great org!! Waht a godo idea. hope you had a lovely thanksgiving. I like your reflective blog. just found it.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    I’m glad you stopped by Mmmm! And thanks, I had a wonderful Thanksgiving – and have much to be thankful for.


Leave a Reply

