technical genius

23 August 2009

I lost my blog for awhile.  And what an exercise in frustration – trying to get help from virtual geekdom.  Clearly my interpretation of what the WordPress world labels as “easy”  was on the wrong side of understanding. 

And I’ve had no time to deal with the whole thing – my job has been exceedingly demanding, and by the time I get home in evenings (or late nights), I’m not exactly up for taking risks with a year’s worth of journals.  What breaks my heart most is having acquired this readership, this circle of like-minded friends who were all kind enough to check in on this little life.  I hope I can find you back.

In the meantime I have saved the posts.  It took some time but everything’s copied, and I really want to hang on to my realia url – – or do I?  Am I married to it?  But here I am, back on the “wordpress for amateurs” site.  And it’s bugging the hell out of me that I don’t have creative control over the look of this blog, even though I’m quite sure you could care less.  I’m sure it’s just another way for me to avoid the real work – the writing.

Thanks for coming back.  I’m really glad you’re here.  And if I’ve learned anything in this exercise, it’s that I need this blog.  I can’t face the oncoming seasons without it. 

Best.  Mean it.

jm

5 Responses to “technical genius”

  1. Susannah Says:

    I am glad you are back 🙂

  2. Deb Atkinson Says:

    I moved from wordpress.com to my own domain because I want a site that can grow with me and I won’t have the headache of im-/exporting tons of files down the line. So I opted for more headache now, but I wanted a very clean blog anyway so the move for me made me find an even simplier theme than before.

    Deb

  3. jenmorrison Says:

    Well I hope you are more technically savvy than me Deb! 🙂

  4. Deb Atkinson Says:

    Just muddling through one day at a time. 😉


Leave a Reply

