adventures in transit

13 January 2009

Yes I Am

The other day I’m riding the subway.  Now, the subway is a place where good manners and even good behaviour are not in abundance.  People assume blank faces to the strangers around them.  It’s a place that is sometimes marked with graffiti and usually marked with careless litter.  It’s a dingy underground tunnel and, while I appreciate its speed in getting me places, it’s not my favourite way of travelling.

So anyway, the other day I’m riding the subway and I notice a small sticker stuck to the side of a seat.  It reads:

You’re beautiful.

It’s amazing how a small message can change one’s outlook for the day.

*************************************************************

Driver of the Day Award

Last night I’m walking down Kingston road, loaded down with grocery bags but not wanting to wait for the bus.  I enjoy walking in winter at night, and the exercise feels good; but the full bags and the snow and ice on the sidewalk are making it a little less than a barrel of laughs. 

I’m half a block away from the next bus stop when I notice the bus approaching fast.  I start to jog toward the stop, but the awkwardness of the situation reduces my “jog” to something that resembles a hobble/stumble/fumble/trip.  Nice bus drivers notice these things, and wait at the stop until you get there. 

This bus driver stops right beside me, a half block before the stop so I can board right there.  Then he must remember me from another time because he doesn’t stop at the bus stop I ring the bell for; he continues on another half block and deposits me right in front of the laneway which takes me home.

*************************************************************

Yech

On the ride to work today, a perfectly respectable looking lady sneezes right into the back of my hair.

Leave a Reply

