january daughter

8 January 2009

Happy birthday Kelsey.  I hope turning 24 will start your best year ever.

Many of the brightest lights in my memory are lit upon you.  Like when you were two and my sister handed you Paddington Bear and you about shattered us all with your instant devotion (and everlasting) love for him.  Or when you were four and Mary Poppins was your hero and you could mimic the Jane and Michael characters and their accents with hilarious accuracy.  Or when you were six you used to wish me a safe journey every day after I walked you to school: “Don’t fall mom!”  And as long as I live I will never forget the sight of you and Halet dancing and singing down the street in spontaneous and utter joy in a rainstorm under a shared umbrella.  (I felt ever so guilty for making you come in because I was worried you’d get struck by lightning.)

Since you were small, others liked to be around you; no doubt because of your gentle nature, quiet confidence and self assurance.  When you were a kid, our house seemed to be the one in the neighbourhood where everyone came to play.  You were your own person from time you could walk, and I have always admired how you sustain a clear idea of the things you want, you set your sights on them, and you go after them.  Whether that be making your own bed the way you like it, at age one, getting a new job at 16, or taking over the family Christmas giving project at 23. 

You’re funny as hell, and a great impressionist.  You’re kind to the bottom of your soul, and yet displays of affection are not your thing.  I love you because you’re still that same person you were as that little girl – authentic and smart, beautiful inside and out.  I feel like you’re a gift that was given to us twice – both when you were born, and when you survived that wretched trauma at ten.  There isn’t a time that I look at you and don’t thank the stars.  You belong here, and we’re ever so grateful.  And I’m looking forward to the next 24 years of memories.

And many more and shut the door on ricky hubble.

Leave a Reply

